Yard waste pickup schedule announced

The City of Providence Department of Public Works has announced that free yard debris collection will begin Monday, April 14, 2014.

  • Residents are encouraged to recycle and compost all yard debris.
  • Yard debris should be left curbside on regular recycling and trash collection days.
  • Sticks and trimmings must be cut to 4 feet or smaller and tied together. Yard debris may not be placed inside plastic bags.
  • Yard debris collection ends on Friday, December 12, 2014.

    There is no trash pick up scheduled for the following holidays:

    New Year’s Day: Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    Martin Luther King Day:
    Monday, January 20, 2014
    President’s Day:
    Monday, February 17, 2014
    Memorial Day:
    Monday, May 26, 2014
    Independence Day:
    Friday, July 4, 2014
    Victory Day:
    Monday, August 11, 2014
    Labor Day:
    Monday, September 1, 2014
    Columbus Day:
    Monday, October 13, 2014
    Veterans’ Day:
    Tuesday, November 11, 2014
    Thanksgiving Day:
    Thursday, November 27, 2014
    Christmas Day:
    Thursday, December 25, 2014

    If a holiday falls on your trash pick up day, your trash will be picked up the very next day. All pickups for the rest of the week will also be one day later. (Friday’s pickup will be on Saturday).

    If the holiday falls on a Saturday, trash pick up is not changed. For missed pickups or to schedule a stove, refrigerator or large item pick up, call 1-800-972-4545. To keep rats away, store your trash in a sealed container.

    Recycling is required in the City of Providence. (City Ordinance Sec. 12.61.2) Use of Recyclable Receptacles. Violations of the provisions are Punishable by law.

    This entry was posted in City Government, Environment. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.